The Rum Kitchen, Carnaby

“It’s like Notting Hill Carnival every day of the week!”

rum kitchenSo, my sister and I decided to take my mum out to London for her birthday, and we thought we might give Rum Kitchen a try. It’s located quite near Oxford Street, in Kingly Court, which is so picturesque, really pretty in the sunshine.

First Impression: Once we got closer we were confident that we had made a good choice – you could hear the music coming through the door before you’d stepped in and it just gave off a really good vibe. The playlist of this place is distinctively dancehall/bashment/afrobeats, and if that’s your type then you’ve come to the right place. The staff were super friendly and we had a laugh over the music – they seemed to love the fact that my mum was probably enjoying the tunes the most.

“Bruk off your back? I dance to this in Zumba!”

The Menu: https://s3-eu-west-1.amazonaws.com/goodlifestudio/rkhome/menu/RK+21.11.16.pdf

^ that’s a link to the menu for your perusing pleasure. For me, the menu was refreshing – the different flavours put together in some of the dishes I would have never expected, but I trust that they tasted great. Both my sister and my mum ordered the Jerk Bowl whilst I settled for the Jerk Chicken Burger.  Price wise, I definitely think the Jerk Bowl was value for money – the portions were very decent for the price. However, I think my only gripe would be that I wasn’t keen on paying Β£9.50 for just a burger. Now I’m not at all a Scrooge, but I felt for only one (and a half?) pieces of jerk chicken in my burger, in my eyes it didn’t feel like I was eating Β£9.50 worth of burger – do you know what I mean? To be fair it probably serves me right – who comes to a Caribbean restaurant and orders a burger?!

rum kitchen pic
#aestheticgoals
Unfortunately we didn’t try the cocktail menu (I’m sure there’s a rule against drinking with your mum at 2 o’clock in the afternoon) but I know I will definitely be back with some friends (sorry mum) to give it a go.

Overall Impression: It 100% does Caribbean food justice – which I think is the most important thing if a restaurant is going to be culturally niche.  I can’t stress enough how much the music contributed to making such an easy going, enjoyable atmosphere. Will be back for sure!

 

Interior: πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Menu: πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Service: πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Student friendly: πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Rum Kitchen, Carnaby

Add yours

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

