Annexe, Birmingham

“The interior designer for this restaurant 100% just searched “vintage” “romance” on Tumblr.” 

For this years Valentine’s Day, my boyfriend surprised me with dinner at this cute, charming little restaurant, tucked away on one of the many streets of Birmingham. It’s safe to say that I had a night to remember – not only was the company great but the food was exquisite. 

Have you ever seen a restaurant interior so… pretty?

First impression: From the outside I knew that the restaurant was going to have that cozy feel but nothing prepared me for the warmth I felt when I first stepped in. Not warmth temperature wise, but the feeling you get when you watch videos of children being told they’re going to Disneyland. Lit mostly by candlelight, and dotted with pink heart balloons, it definitely captured that romantic feel that many restaurants get wrong, especially on a day like Valentines Day. However, I can appreciate it was a busy night but we ended up waiting half an hour at the bar for our table to be free – which I wouldn’t have minded if I could sit down and actually enjoy my outrageously overpriced, very slim glass of pink lemonade. One thing I did think was unnerving was how close the the tables were to each other – I’m pretty sure the table next to us were very unimpressed with their court-side view of me snorting Prosecco out of my nose because I giggled a bit too much while drinking. #classy 


The menu: http://www.annexe.co/show-nights/valentines-day/

This year they had a set menu for Valentines Day and I’ve included the link to next years because having looked at it, I can’t see that there’s much difference between the two. The V-Day deal included two complimentary glasses of Prosecco, (which were very much appreciated) and a choice of starters, mains and desserts. Whilst I had no qualms with the quality and taste of the food itself, I found the menu somewhat limited if you are a little bit of a picky eater like me. For dessert, we shared the chocolate fondant (are there really people who would rather have a cheese board for dessert?) and it. was. dreamy

The one thing that stood out for me was the exceptional bottle of wine (Rioja Blanco, 2014) that my boyfriend Harry ordered. Wine and prosecco? I could get used to that. 

Candlelit dinners are nice, until it’s time to take a selfie.


Overall impression: I can definitely see why the night was sold out months in advance, this charismatic little restaurant was just the right place to create a memory. Not sure if we will be returning next year as the menu hasn’t really changed, and we’d like to try somewhere new. As far as it being student friendly goes, it’s definitely value for money, and any extras (such as a bottle of wine) are so worth it. 

Interior: πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ 

Menu: πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Service: πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

Student friendly: πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ 

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

